Teaching Prize

Alpha-Iota Prize for Excellence in Teaching

Each year, the undergraduate members of Alpha Iota, led by four Phi Beta Kappa Marshals, decide on the Phi Beta Kappa awards for teaching excellence given to three members of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences at the Literary Exercises. Only the undergraduate members of the Chapter can nominate teachers for this prize. Letters of nomination should be emailed to the chair of the committee who, this year, is Professor Howard Georgi, hgeorgi@fas.harvard.edu.


Winners of the Alpha Iota Prize For Excellence in Teaching


Adam C. Hesterberg, Lecturer/Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies for Computer Science

Peter John Huybers, Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences and of Environmental Science and Engineering

Andrea Wright, Lecturer in the Department of Anthropology and Allston Burr Resident Dean of Harvard College, Eliot House



Ali Asani, Murray A. Albertson Professor of Middle Eastern Studies and Professor of Indo-Muslim and Islamic Religion and Cultures
Manja Klemenčič, Lecturer in Sociology
Logan McCarty, Director of Science Education


Rachelle Gaudet, Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Edward J. Hall, Norman E. Vuilleumier Professor of Philosophy
Leah Jane Whittington, Professor of English


Kathleen Coleman, James Loeb Professor of the Classics
Elizabeth Hinton, John L. Loeb Associate Professor of the Social Sciences in the Department History and the Department of African and African American Studies
Abigail Modaff,Teaching Fellow in History


Ann Blair, Carl H. Pforzheimer University Professor
Noam Elkies, Professor of Mathematics
Nicholas Harkness, John L. Loeb Associate Professor of the Social Sciences
Katherine Merseth, Senior Lecturer in the Graduate School of Education


Andrew Berry, Lecturer in Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
Alison Frank Johnson, Professor of History
Parimal Patil, Professor of Religion and Indian Philosophy


Kiran Gajwani, Lecturer in Economics
Charles Hallisey, Senior Lecturer in Buddhist Literatures
Brigitte Libby, Lecturer in the Classics


Selim Berker, John L. Loeb Associate Professor of the Humanities
Eddie Kohler, Associate Professor of  Computer Science, Microsoft Professor of Computer Science
Jane Unrue, Preceptor in the Expository Writing Program


Philip Fisher, Felice Crowl Reid Professor of English
Alison Simmons, Samuel H. Wolcott Professor of Philosophy
Thomas Torello, Lecturer on Molecular and Cellular Biology


Jacob Barandes, Associate Director of Graduate Studies; Lecturer on Physics
Stephen Blyth, Professor of the Practice of Statistics
Amanda Claybaugh, Professor of English


David Mooney, Robert P. Pinkas Family Professor of Bioengineering
David Morin, Lecturer on Physics and Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies in Physics
Emma Rothschild, Jeremy and Jane Knowles Professor of History


David L. Ager, Lecturer on Sociology, Director of Undergraduate Studies in Sociology
William C. Clark, Harvey Brooks Professor of International Science, Public Policy and Human Development at the Kennedy School of Government and a member of the FAS Committee on Degrees in Environmental Science and Public Policy
Dudley R. Herschbach, Frank B. Baird, Jr. Professor of Science, Emeritus


Lawrence Buell, Powell M. Cabot Professor of American Literature
Benjamin Friedman, William Joseph Maier Professor of Political Economy
Richard Tarrant, Pope Professor of the Latin Language and Literature


Joseph Blitzstein, Assistant Professor of Statistics
Daniel Donoghue, John P. Marquand Professor of English
Jeffrey Hamburger, Kuno Francke Professor of German Art and Culture


Sean Gallagher, Associate Professor of Music
Carlos Diaz Rosillo, Teaching Fellow in Government


David A. Evans, Abbott and James Lawrence Professor of Chemistry
Anne Harrington, Professor of the History of Science
Helen Vendler, A Kingsley Porter University Professor


Joseph D. Harris, Higgins Professor of Mathematics
Caroline Hoxby, Freed Professor of Economics
Kay Kaufman Shelemay, Watts Professor of Music and Professor of African and African American Studies


Samuel P. Huntington, Albert J. Weatherhead University Professor
Peter E. Gordon, John and Ruth Hazel Associate Professor of the Social Sciences


Bertrand I. Halperin, Hollis Professor of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy
Carl Pearson, Lecturer on the History of Science
Salil Vadhan, Assistant Professor of Computer Science


Eric N. Jacobsen, Sheldon Emery Professor of Chemistry, Harvard College Professor
Stephen P. Rosen, Beton Michael Kaneb Professor of National Security and Military Affairs, Harvard College Professor
James Wilkinson, Lecturer on History and Literature, Director of the Derek Bok Center for Teaching and Learning


James Engell, Gurney Professor of English Literature and Professor of Comparative Literature
Howard Georgi, Mallinckrodt Professor of Physics
Peter Hall, Krupp Foundation Professor of European Studies, Harvard College Professor


Mary Gaylord, Professor in Romance Languages & Literatures
Peter Gomes, Plummer Professor of Christian Morals
Nancy Mitchnick, Rudolf Arnheim Lecturer on Studio Arts


Melissa Barry, Assistant Professor in Philosophy
Anya Bernstein, Lecturer on Social Studies
Guido Guidotti, Higgins Professor of Biochemistry


Daniel Gilbert, Professor in Psychology
David Laibson, Associate Professor in Economics
Michael Smith, Associate Professor in Engineering Sciences


Glenn Adelson, Lecturer in ESPP & Preceptor in Expository Writing
Nataliya Chirkov, Teaching Assistant in Slavic
Kamal Khuri-Makdisi, Assistant Professor in Mathematics
Rebecca Krug, Assistant Professor in English


Colleen Cavanaugh, Professor in Biological Sciences
Brian Hall, Assistant Professor in Economics
Graham Huggan, Associate Professor in English
Daniel Schacter, Professor in Psychology


David Lewin, Professor in Music
Everett Mendelsohn, Professor in the History of Science
Daniel Perlman, Lecturer in ESPP
Margo Seltzer, Assistant Professor in Computer Science


Graeme Boone, Associate Professor in Music
John Stewart, Senior Preceptor in Music
Edward O. Wilson, Professor in Biological Sciences


Mara Prentiss, Associate Professor in Physics
Howard Stone, Associate Professor in Applied Math
Emily Vermeule, Professor in Classics and Fine Arts


Connie Holm, Associate Professsor in Biological Sciences
David Mitten, Professor in Classics and History of Art & Architecture
H.W. Perry, Associate Professor in Government


Roger Brown, Professor in Psychology
Barbara Johnson, Professor in English and Literature
Cynthia Moss, Assistant Professor in Psychology


Lucie Brock-Broido, Assistant Professor in English
David Layzer, Professor in Astronomy
Ruben Puentedur, Chemistry
Cecilia Rouse, Economics


Christopher Braider, Associate Professor in Literature
Meichun Hsu, Assistant Professor in Computer Science
Lenore Weitzman, Associate Professor in Sociology


Richard Freemantle, Economics
Jean Haley, Biology
Janice Thaddeus, Lecturer on History and Literature


Daniel Goroff, Assistant Professor in Mathematics
Drew McCoy, Associate Professor in History
Tazuko Monane, Professor in East Asian Lang. & Literatures


Karel Liem, Professor in Biological Sciences
Simon Schama, Professor in History


Diana Eck, Professor in Religion and Indian Studies
Jan Ziolkowski, Professor in Classics
Sonia Michel, Lecturer on History and Literature


Michael Sandel, Associate Professor of Government
James Stellar, Associate Professor in Psychology


Dorrit Cohn, Professor in Germanic Lang. & Literatures
Owen Gingerich, Professor in Astronomy
Stephen Kett, Music


Lisa Anderson, Assistant Professor in Government
Thomas Parker, Assistant Professor in Mathematics


David Pickard, Associate Professor in Statistics
Judith Shklar, Professor in Government
Peter Stevens, Associate Professor in Biological Sciences


Deborah Hughes Hallett, Senior Preceptor in Mathematics
Leonard Nash, Professor in Chemistry